When A White Christmas Won’t…(Part 2)

Snowstorm interlude, Bryce Point, Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah.

Snowstorm interlude, Bryce Point, Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah.

So, wearing my self awarded title of Modern Day Mountain Man, I’d driven all day from central Arizona up to the top of the geologic Grand Staircase to Bryce Canyon National Park in southern Utah. To be there when a snowstorm arrived. It’s what I do, don’t try to dissuade me.

Christmas morning tourists at Bryce Point.

Christmas morning tourists at Bryce Point.

Still surprised by all the Asian tourists that had been at Bryce Point for the sunrise (such as it was, through the snowstorm), the clouds had closed back in. Let it snow. But no sense in going to my other favorite Bryce Canyon viewpoints to wait out the storm. Not since I had to drive all day to get home to southeast Utah, to San Juan County. This was a hit-and-go sojourn, to my chagrin.

Ruby's Inn parking lot, Christmas morning.

Ruby’s Inn parking lot, Christmas morning.

Yes, I would have loved to have lingered. Being back at Ruby’s Inn at Bryce was so nice. I’d gotten in late and barely had time to sleep in such nice lodging, every detail attended to, and modestly priced. The front desk staff had given me a flyer for the Christmas morning breakfast buffet, only $5.50. As I passed back from my early morning photo shoot I was so tempted to indulge in the food. Rest a bit, eat, savor. But instead I rolled. Many miles to go, you know.

Ruby's Inn lobby on Christmas morning.

Ruby’s Inn lobby on Christmas morning.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.