Shades Of Rain

Rain Clouds, Little Chino Valley, Arizona

The Southwestern “monsoon” rains came weeks ago, awakening the high desert land between the mountains.

Then they disappeared. What happened? Was the rainy season over already, as happened a few years ago, much to my dismay?

But then this week, moisture returned to the skies. Clouds, billowing, every changing. Come back to Earth, you moisture ones. This is where you want to be.

In this photo, the rain curtains tease to the north. In the distance, the blue shapes of Bill Williams Mountain, and the Mogollon Rim, which is the very southern edge of the vast, high Colorado Plateau, just sit there. They’ve seen it all.

I want to feel the rain drops hit me again. Like a mountain. Like a desert.

One comment on “Shades Of Rain

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.